Meat is the easiest of the three to find at a Dallas-Fort Worth farmers market. Of the 22 markets we researched first hand, fifteen name meat on their own sites, eleven name dairy or cheese, and ten name eggs. Nine markets state all three.
Below is that list, then the cooler, what to ask, and why a claim about how an animal was raised is the vendor's.
## Markets that state meat, eggs and dairy
- Coppell Farmers Market, Saturday 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM. Its vendor rules define a Ranchers class covering "meat, eggs, and dairy products." - Dallas Farmers Market (The Shed), Saturday 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM and Sunday 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM, year round. It publishes all three as categories, including one called "Eggs & Dairy," described as "Pasture-raised eggs and farmstead cheeses from local farms." - Cowtown Farmers Market in White Settlement, Saturday 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM, year round. Its product page names "meats, eggs, cheeses" among what vendors carry. - McKinney Farmers Market at Chestnut Square, Saturday, 8:00 AM to noon April through December and 9:00 AM to noon January through March. Its rules name meats and eggs under Farmers and Ranchers, cheese under Food Specialties. - Saint Michael's Farmers Market in Dallas, Saturday 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM, mid-April to early September. It accepts "cheeses, eggs, honey, milk, meats." - White Rock Farmers Market (Saturday 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM), Fair Park Farmers Market (Sunday 9:00 AM to 1:00 PM) and Tietze Park Farmers Market (Sunday 9:00 AM to 1:00 PM), all run by Good Local Markets, which describes "the best local produce, meats and cheese." Eggs appear on the shared vendor list rather than in market copy, so they are a snapshot of who signed up. - Wylie Urban Farm & Market, a year-round retail market open seven days. It stocks meat, cheese, and eggs it describes as "laid by cage-free chickens across the street from the market."
## Markets that state some but not all
- Keller Farmers Market, Saturday 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM: meats and cheese, eggs not stated. - Frisco Rotary Farmers Market, Saturday, market site states 9:00 AM to 1:00 PM: "pasture raised meat and eggs," dairy not stated. - Rockwall Farmers Market, Saturday 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM, May through September: "grass-fed meats," eggs and dairy not stated. - Saginaw Farmers Market at Switchyard, second and fourth Saturdays 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM: meat, in the market's own description of what it carries. - Burleson Farmers Market, Saturday 8:00 AM to 1:00 PM, weekly March to October and monthly November to February. Its FAQ answers directly: "a variety of meats available, including grass-fed beef, free-range chicken, and locally sourced pork." - Farmers Market of Grapevine, a retail store open seven days, stocks named meat and dairy producers. Its only eggs are pickled quail eggs in the jarred goods.
Seven of the 22 name none of the three, including Frisco Fresh Market and Downtown Arlington Farmers Market, which names produce and artisan goods only. Silence is not a no. It means we could not source it, and the market's own social page is the fastest way to find out.
## Bring a cooler, and shop these last
Animal products are the part that can go wrong on the drive home. North Texas parking lots are brutal most of the year.
Put a cooler in the trunk, with ice, and buy meat, eggs and dairy on your last pass. Much of this meat is sold frozen, which buys you time. Eggs and fresh cheese have no such margin.
## What to ask
- Is this frozen or fresh, and how long has it been out of the freezer? - Did you raise this animal, or buy it in? It is a normal question. - Where was it processed? That tells you how far the meat travelled. - For eggs, when were these laid? A grower who collects daily will tell you the day.
On raw milk, Keller publishes the clearest answer: "Is raw milk sold at your market? No. In Texas, it can only be sold on the farm where it was produced."
## Who is standing behind the claim
Grass-fed, pasture-raised, free-range and heritage are the vendor's words. Unless the market publishes a rule, it has not checked them.
Some markets do publish a rule. Coppell states that a vendor suspected of reselling unapproved items "will be subject to an on-farm audit." Good Local Markets states that its staff "visits each farm to ensure they are growing what they are selling at the market." Saint Michael's requires "100% of our vendors' goods to be homegrown or homemade" and bars distributors.
Others have written the opposite into their rules. Frisco Rotary states vendors "may sell produce, meat and other products from other sources, but the product must come straight from the farm." Keller and Saginaw require any product the vendor did not raise to be labeled with the source producer's name and location. Burleson's wording rewards a close read too: "locally sourced pork" says where the pork came from, not that the seller raised the pig.
A disclosed source beats an unstated one. It changes the question from what to who.
Find days and hours for every market in the full DFW market directory.